Slice of Life Day 15 – A Day

It’s one of those days. The kind where you just want to put your head in your hands and have a good cry. I was awake much of last night thinking of a difficult conversation I needed to have once I arrived to school today. Starting the day both tired and apprehensive is not a winning combination.

I had to have this conversation. I am advocating for the best interest of students who need as much love and support as we can give. However, my colleague did not view my thoughts in the same way and nothing I had to say was well received. Our conversation ended with me hearing, “I can’t even talk to you. I’m not having this conversation.” All before 7:15 AM.

It took a lot of courage for me to have this conversation. A year ago, I wouldn’t have been as brave, so I guess that’s my silver lining. I know today that I will not apologize for doing what is right for students and children. My hope of conversation quickly became me feeling confrontation.

It’s now late in the afternoon, and I have resisted the urge to give in and cry or go home. Though both are tempting. But, I know the problem won’t go away with tears or avoidance. The optimist in me is hopeful that by tomorrow the, “I can’t talk to you,” will change to, “Let’s talk.”

2 thoughts on “Slice of Life Day 15 – A Day

Leave a Reply

